About Randolph County Tourism Development Authority

Randolph County Tourism Development Authority

The Randolph County Tourism Development Authority is a public authority governed by the terms of special legislation granted by the N.C. General Assembly on July 28, 1997, as House Bill 337, An Act to Authorize Randolph County to Levy a Room Occupancy and Tourism Development Tax under the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act. The current occupancy tax rate is set at five percent. 

Board of Directors

Authority Board members, appointed by the Randolph County Board of Commissioners in accordance with House Bill 337, act as voting members of the Board with full authority and responsibility to determine policies, procedures, and regulations for the operation of the Authority in accordance with the N.C. Guidelines for Occupancy Tax Uniform Provisions; monitor the Authority's financial health, programs, and overall performance; and provide the Chief Executive Officer with resources to meet the needs of the Annual Destination Marketing Plan & Program of Work.

Seat 1 - Pam Brown, Daly Seven Hotels, representing the hotel/motel industry Seat 6 - David Caughron, Chairman, Hospice of Randolph, representing the Randleman Chamber
Seat 2 - Luke Hollingsworth, Holly Ridge Golf Links, representing the Archdale-Trinity Chamber Seat 7 - Rebecca Petty Moffitt, Vice-Chair, Petty Family Foundation & Attractions, representing the tourism industry-at-large
Seat 3 - Barbara Gallimore, The Flying Pig Food & Spirits, representing the Asheboro/Randolph Chamber Seat 8 - Shawn Patel, BAPS Hospitality, representing the hotel/motel industry
Seat 4 - Diane Villa, representing the North Carolina Zoo Seat 9 - Ross Holt, Randolph County Public Library, representing Randolph County Government
Seat 5 - Leslie Brown, Liberty Showcase Theater, representing the Liberty Chamber  

TDA Board of Directors

Pictured left to right: Barbara Gallimore, Ross Holt, Shawn Patel, Rebecca Petty Moffitt, Diane Villa,
David Caughron, Leslie Brown, Luke Hollingsworth; not pictured, Pam Brown | Emails to members of the Board are routed through the Clerk to the Board - click HERE

2021 Board of Directors Meetings

Wednesday, January 20, 2021  Virtual | ZOOM Meeting 2:00 PM Jan 2021 Jan 2021 Min
Wednesday, February 17, 2021  Virtual | ZOOM Meeting 2:00 PM Feb 2021 Feb 2021 Min
Wednesday, March 17, 2021  NC Cooperative Extension Office | 1003 S Fayetteville St, Asheboro 2:00 PM Mar 2021 Mar 2021 Min
Wednesday, April 21, 2021  NC Cooperative Extension Office | 1003 S Fayetteville St, Asheboro 2:00 PM Apr 2021 Apr 2021 Min
Wednesday, May 19, 2021  NC Cooperative Extension Office | 1003 S Fayetteville St, Asheboro 2:00 PM May 2021 May 2021 Min
Wednesday, June 23, 2021  NC Cooperative Extension Office | 1003 S Fayetteville St, Asheboro 2:00 PM Jun 2021 Jun 2021 Min
Wednesday, August 18, 2021  TBD 2:00 PM Aug 2021 Aug 2021 Min
Wednesday, September 15, 2021  TBD 2:00 PM Sep 2020 Sep 2020 Min
Wednesday, October 20, 2021  TBD 2:00 PM Oct 2021 Oct 2021 Min
Wednesday, November 17, 2021  TBD 2:00 PM Nov 2021 Nov 2021 Min
Wednesday, December 15, 2021  TBD

2:00 PM

Dec 2021 Dec 2021 Min

Click Here for Randolph County Tourism Development Authority's 2021 - 2022 Proposed Budget

Leadership Team

Amber Scarlett


Amber Scarlett, Executive Director


O: (336) 626-0364, ext 102


M: (336) 465-6981


Email - click HERE

Amber Skeen, Clerk to the Board


Amber Renee' Skeen, Director of Office Administration/Clerk to the Board


O: (336) 626-0364, ext 105


M: (336) 465-1590


Email - click HERE


 Tourism Marketing Coordinator

 Position Description

 Application Process Closed 05/28/2021


Collaboration Team

Kenny Kidd, Liaison to the Board of County Commissioners Clerk: (333) 318-6301 Email - click HERE
Suzanne Dale, Authority Finance Officer O: (336) 318-6617 Email - click HERE
Susan Dosier, DK Communications Group O: (704) 933-7481 Email - click HERE 
Richard Schoenberger, Manor House Graphics O: (336) 908-1315 Email - click HERE
Mike Southard, Triad Hosting, Inc O: (336) 497-1932 Email - click HERE

The Heart of North Carolina Visitors Bureau is the official destination marketing organization for the Randolph County Tourism Development Authority representing Archdale, Asheboro, Franklinville, Liberty, Ramseur, Randleman, Seagrove, Staley, and Trinity. | 500 Albemarle Road, Asheboro, North Carolina 27203 | Toll-Free Phone: (800) 626-2672 | Open Monday - Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

The Interstate 73/74 Visitor Centers are staffed and operated by the Randolph County Tourism Development Authority in cooperation with the NC Department of Transportation and are located one mile south of Seagrove on both North and Southbound lanes. For more information on the I-73/74 Visitor Centers, including location and staffing, go to this link: VISITOR CENTERS